Sparagas

Managed to crack something in game's 3D model files!

Post by Sparagas on Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:39 am

I managed to understand something about SH1 3D models!

I got frustrated that this game is so old, and still no one has ever cracked how to export 3D models from this old game, so I began my journey. I'm not a programmer, but after whole day of researching and playing with hex editor and game files I managed to get useful info about 3D models and it's structure in game files.

But first let's begin at beginning. I was looking at SH1 ModPack v1.2 witch has a lot of goodies, like HEX editor, extracted game files, and TIM viewers. So I decided to look through game textures and found one very particularity interesting. This one:

(I swapped the palette to correct colors to see it better)

First it was very huge and detail texture (for PSX) and as I remember the game, it was only used in one location:

(this is my own created pixel perfect map, if you didn't knew that)

It was on a billboard only in this location
So I chose my texture. Now maybe I can find it's mesh model?
First I find it's file name in extracted game files:

It is in BG folder (BackGround?), and it's name is THR5201F.TIM (.TIM is PSX common texture format, who didn't knew that)

Now what? In theory 3D mesh model should be connected with it's texture file, so let's try to find it in game file codes it's self. How? Enter the HEX editor! (provided in SH1 ModPack)

First I tried to open the texture file in HEX editor itself, but as expected didn't found anything useful.
When I opened the whole SH CD it self in Hex editor and searched for THR5201F and... I found it!

And the best part is, that this name is used only once in the entire CD (That's why I chose the unique texture) and it's not in textures file it's self! So it's name GOT to be used in 3D model file.

So let's find it! But before we continue let's make a "commercial" brake and look more closely in BG folder:

There are: