Give or get help if you're stuck on a section of one of the games.
Forum rules
Remember to make your thread titles as clear as possible and put the game title in the subject of your help thread when posting!
Examples: "SH2 Cockroach Room" or "SH4 Walter Boss"
 
 

MisterMosquito

User avatar

Posts: 3

Joined: Aug 26, 2014

Silent Hill 2 PC crash help

Post by MisterMosquito on Tue Aug 26, 2014 10:03 am

Sorry if this has already been posted somewhere (I just signed up and looked through the SH2 page and didn't spot it) but I need help!
All of this talk of Kojima's Silent Hills has me feeling nostalgic, so I decided to dust off my PC version of Silent Hill 2 and play it again for the hundreth time. I looked online and found a site which gives direction on how to get the game to run on a modern PC. Here's the link for anyone interested: http://www.play-old-pc-games.com/2014/0 ... directors/
So I followed the directions and it seemed to be working. The game starts, I can select new game, it loads and I'm in the restroom. My problem is anytime I try to go to the options menu (either from the main menu or in-game) the game crashes to desktop. Even if I don't follow the direction on that site and just have a vanilla version running I encounter the same problem. I probably spent over 3 hrs last night trying to get this thing to run, but no luck :( Any help on this matter would be much appretiated.
 
 
 
 
 
 

Borg

Member

User avatar

Ghost

Posts: 6606

Joined: Sep 28, 2011

Silent Hill 2 PC crash help

Post by Borg on Tue Aug 26, 2014 10:13 am

Have you tried minimizing the game and opening the task manager and setting the affinity of the game to one core?
 
 
 
 
 
 

MisterMosquito

User avatar

Posts: 3

Joined: Aug 26, 2014

Silent Hill 2 PC crash help

Post by MisterMosquito on Tue Aug 26, 2014 10:35 am

devil hunter wrote:Have you tried minimizing the game and opening the task manager and setting the affinity of the game to one core?

I have not tried the minimizing option, but I followed a link on that site that showed me how to change the affinity to one core by changing the programs shortcut. I will try what you said when I get home from work. What confuses me is the game will run and technically I can play it, but I need to change the controls in options. I also noticed the game will crash if I try to go into the 'Movies' option from the main menu.
 
 
 
 
 
 

MisterMosquito

User avatar

Posts: 3

Joined: Aug 26, 2014

Silent Hill 2 PC crash help

Post by MisterMosquito on Wed Aug 27, 2014 9:20 pm

Ok so I think I fixed it. For some reason when trying to play with the dualshock 3 using Motionjoy's DS3 Tool the game crashes. Unplugging the DS3 and closing the DS3 Tool fixes this problem. Hope this helps someone in the future! Now I'm off to dive into James' nightmare!! :mrgreen: Also thanks to devil hunter for the quick response.
 
 
 
 
 
 

Borg

Member

User avatar

Ghost

Posts: 6606

Joined: Sep 28, 2011

Silent Hill 2 PC crash help

Post by Borg on Thu Aug 28, 2014 4:16 am

Nice to hear you can play it normally now :D
 
 
 
 
 
 

NimbleTBolt

Posts: 1

Joined: Oct 05, 2015

Silent Hill 2 PC crash help

Post by NimbleTBolt on Mon Oct 05, 2015 3:46 pm

I solved this problem once before setting the affinity to one core, using the patch, a resolution hack, and 3D-Analyze, but now it doesn't work. The game is windowed, but the option menu still crashes and Task Manager is coming up with "Access Denied" when trying to set the affinity.
 
 
 
 
 
 

bageraz

User avatar

need to finish the game

Posts: 6

Joined: Apr 07, 2016

Location: Malaysia

Silent Hill 2 PC crash help

Post by bageraz on Fri Apr 08, 2016 7:03 pm

Here some links for who want to play SH2 with modern pc setup (Windows 8 - Windows 10).

1) The Patch
http://www.fileplanet.com/118711/110000/fileinfo/Silent-Hill-2-Patch

2) The Fix
The site provide everything who need to run the SH2 smoothly. Plus Anti-Aliasing Fix
http://pcgamingwiki.com/wiki/Silent_Hill_2:_Director's_Cut

SH2PROXY for WINDOWS 10 (maybe work with others, prepare backup 1st)
https://github.com/emoose/sh2proxy/issu ... -155470084
https://mega.nz/#!5kkF2DzB!KHyw9FXx2pzA ... w0QcB0OdS8

2.1) Install Modern Compatibility Fix. Install in different folder that main directory. Then copy & paste to game directory.
2.2) Copy & paste sh2proxy file in directory. Then edit sh2proxy.ini [Video]

3) ReShade Framework (OPTIONAL)
This is optional to give more graphical effect like Depth of Field and Ambient Occlusion. This is optional.

3.1) Install ENB Convertor to main directory EXCEPT d3d8.dll
http://enbdev.com/enbconvertor_dx8_dx9_v0035.zip

3.2) Install latest ReShade Framework into any directory.
http://reshade.me/

3.3) Apply my Preset (huhuhu)
http://sfx.thelazy.net/games/preset/5430/

SPLIT SCREEN DEMO


Fell free to ask and I gladly help. :)
 
 
 
 
 
 

golfisfun

Posts: 11

Joined: Jan 07, 2008

Silent Hill 2 PC crash help

Post by golfisfun on Sat Oct 07, 2017 8:01 pm

bageraz wrote:Here some links for who want to play SH2 with modern pc setup (Windows 8 - Windows 10).

1) The Patch
http://www.fileplanet.com/118711/110000/fileinfo/Silent-Hill-2-Patch

2) The Fix
The site provide everything who need to run the SH2 smoothly. Plus Anti-Aliasing Fix
http://pcgamingwiki.com/wiki/Silent_Hill_2:_Director's_Cut

SH2PROXY for WINDOWS 10 (maybe work with others, prepare backup 1st)
https://github.com/emoose/sh2proxy/issu ... -155470084
https://mega.nz/#!5kkF2DzB!KHyw9FXx2pzA ... w0QcB0OdS8

2.1) Install Modern Compatibility Fix. Install in different folder that main directory. Then copy & paste to game directory.
2.2) Copy & paste sh2proxy file in directory. Then edit sh2proxy.ini [Video]

3) ReShade Framework (OPTIONAL)
This is optional to give more graphical effect like Depth of Field and Ambient Occlusion. This is optional.

3.1) Install ENB Convertor to main directory EXCEPT d3d8.dll
http://enbdev.com/enbconvertor_dx8_dx9_v0035.zip

3.2) Install latest ReShade Framework into any directory.
http://reshade.me/

3.3) Apply my Preset (huhuhu)
http://sfx.thelazy.net/games/preset/5430/

SPLIT SCREEN DEMO


Fell free to ask and I gladly help. :)


I cant get the first patch to open for my game. I have that audio bug
 
 
 
 


Return to Silent Hill Game Help



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest