wings34

Posts: 10

Joined: Apr 28, 2011

Silent Hill 2 PC HD Widescreen

Post by wings34 on Sun Nov 27, 2011 5:55 pm

Sorry, I'm kind of a noob when it comes to this stuff. I was wondering if someone here could tell me how to configure SH2 for 1080p res. Just got a vga cable and am connecting my laptop to my flatscreen.
 
 
 
 
 
 

knwlss

Partner

User avatar

untit|ed

Posts: 180

Joined: May 16, 2010

Silent Hill 2 PC HD Widescreen

Post by knwlss on Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:51 am

You'll need a program called XVI32 (Hex editor) and do the following:
1) Launch XVI32 and open (File -> Open or Ctrl+O) sh2pc.exe from the directory of the installed game on your hard drive.
2) You're going to replace the in-game 640x480 screen resolution with the desired one. For this you need to replace the Hex-value of this resolution (80 02 00 00 E0 01) for the one you need. E.g. Hex-value of the 1920x1080 resolution is 80 07 00 00 38 04.

Image

Use the replace function in the program (Search -> Replace or Ctrl+R) and fill the fields in the dialogue box:
Find - 80 02 00 00 E0 01
Replace with - 80 07 00 00 38 04

Enter Ok.
3) Save the file (File -> Save or Ctrl+S). You can overwrite the orginal executable (better make backup first) or save as a new file which you're going to launch to play the game.
4) Launch the game and choose in the options (Options -> Advanced Options) resolution of 640x480. The game will run in 1920x1080 resolution as a result.
PS If the game looks stretched and distorted after the change of the resolution, try to exit the game and relaunch it. This should help.
Image
 
 
 
 
 

wings34

Posts: 10

Joined: Apr 28, 2011

Silent Hill 2 PC HD Widescreen

Post by wings34 on Thu Dec 01, 2011 10:46 pm

wow, the game looks even more amazing now! is the hd collecting going to look even better? oh and do i just do the same thing for hd in sh3?
 
 
 
 
 
 

knwlss

Partner

User avatar

untit|ed

Posts: 180

Joined: May 16, 2010

Silent Hill 2 PC HD Widescreen

Post by knwlss on Fri Dec 02, 2011 4:52 am

No, it's different. Here's the topic for SH3 HD.
Image
 
 
 
 
 

Naroon

Member

User avatar

Pillman's got a gun!

Posts: 5326

Joined: Mar 29, 2011

Location: United States

Silent Hill 2 PC HD Widescreen

Post by Naroon on Sat Dec 03, 2011 2:26 am

wings34 wrote:wow, the game looks even more amazing now! is the hd collecting going to look even better?


Yeah, the HD collection versions have new touched-up textures. I think the poly-counts are the same mostly, but everything just looks better.
Image
 
 
 
 
 

knwlss

Partner

User avatar

untit|ed

Posts: 180

Joined: May 16, 2010

Silent Hill 2 PC HD Widescreen

Post by knwlss on Sat Dec 03, 2011 11:56 am

I doubt it will look better judging by released screenshots of HD collection. It will look the same as PC version at best. Touched-up textures means they were probably taken from the PC port as well.
Image
 
 
 
 
 

Naroon

Member

User avatar

Pillman's got a gun!

Posts: 5326

Joined: Mar 29, 2011

Location: United States

Silent Hill 2 PC HD Widescreen

Post by Naroon on Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:45 pm

Nope, from Whitney and CJ's preview, they said they definitely noticed that a lot of textures were touched up. The PC ports just used the same assets from the original PS2 games, it's just that most people who played the PS2/Xbox versions did so on old CRT sets, so detail was blurry and washed out.
Image
 
 
 
 
 

knwlss

Partner

User avatar

untit|ed

Posts: 180

Joined: May 16, 2010

Silent Hill 2 PC HD Widescreen

Post by knwlss on Sat Dec 03, 2011 1:03 pm

I pretty much sure textures in SH2 PC were of higher resolution compared to the console versions. Anyway, we'll be able to compare PC vs PS3/Xbox 360 versions really soon and then we'll see if it's going to be better.
Image
 
 
 
 
 

Naroon

Member

User avatar

Pillman's got a gun!

Posts: 5326

Joined: Mar 29, 2011

Location: United States

Silent Hill 2 PC HD Widescreen

Post by Naroon on Sat Dec 03, 2011 4:51 pm

I played 2 and 3 on PC extensively, I didn't see any improvements at all in texture quality anywhere in the game. They were just simple PS2 ports. The only real advantage the PC versions had was the obvious fact that you could use any resolution you wanted and you could change the internal rendering res as well, but this didn't affect textures. SH3 did have one small improvement over the PS2 version though, and that was in the form of the lighting. It was more dynamic and less blocky, most notably whilst using the flashlight. Apparently it's even better in the HD collection version since the lighting has been re-done.
Image
 
 
 
 
 

PinentidHead

Member

User avatar

An old Silent Hill fan old

Posts: 1965

Joined: Oct 03, 2011

Location: Brazil

Silent Hill 2 PC HD Widescreen

Post by PinentidHead on Thu May 24, 2012 6:42 pm

There is a modchip made in Brazil that enables several new resolutions from 480p to 1080i, progressive scan etc.. I'll try 480 with my Matrix when I buy my LCD screen. Doing nothing, PS2 screen may be "pixelate" in a LCD screen. It seams PS2 isn't dead yet, nor the original SH series!
 
 
 
 
 
 

ILikeTrains_

Posts: 1

Joined: May 12, 2013

Silent Hill 2 PC HD Widescreen

Post by ILikeTrains_ on Sun May 12, 2013 2:27 pm

I used the XVI32 that knwles recommended and after following all the instractions carefully, I clicked ok for the replace action, i got a message telling me: "string not found".
After that I saved and then tried to open the game, which crashes ever since before even opening.
Anyone knows any solution to the problem, cause i don't know how to fix it and I'm kinda noob too?
+ My windows 7 are 32 bit, does it matter or what?
 
 
 
 
 
 

Naroon

Member

User avatar

Pillman's got a gun!

Posts: 5326

Joined: Mar 29, 2011

Location: United States

Silent Hill 2 PC HD Widescreen

Post by Naroon on Sun May 19, 2013 10:07 pm

Your OS shouldn't matter. Did you backup your original .exe for the game? If not, you're screwed unless you fix it with a re-install.

If anyone knows: My monitor's native res is 1600x900, so I'm not wanting to use 1920x1080. How would I go about finding the value for my resolution?
Image
 
 
 
 
 

DmxDex

Posts: 5

Joined: Nov 20, 2016

Silent Hill 2 PC HD Widescreen

Post by DmxDex on Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:48 pm

What is the hex value of 2560x1440?
 
 
 
 
 
 

DmxDex

Posts: 5

Joined: Nov 20, 2016

Silent Hill 2 PC HD Widescreen

Post by DmxDex on Thu Nov 24, 2016 9:53 am

So no one can help me
 
 
 
 
 
 

Silent Wanderer

Member

User avatar

Children of the Korn

Posts: 473

Joined: Nov 05, 2009

Silent Hill 2 PC HD Widescreen

Post by Silent Wanderer on Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:06 pm

Image
 
 
 


Return to Silent Hill 2



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests